

















Mother Earth

5th International Geologica Belgica Congress GB2016

26-29 January 2016 | Mons, Belgium

The 5th International Geologica Belgica Congress will be held in Mons, January 26-29, 2016. The main theme is « Mother Earth ». We therefore encourage topics related to environment, resources and past life. However, contributions from a wide range of Earth Science disciplines are welcome, including:

Paleoclimatology

Geoenergy & reservoirs

Hydrogeology

Geomaterials and ore geology

Geoenvironment

Geohazards

Deep geological processes

Stratigraphy and sedimentary geology

Early and past life

Plate tectonics and structural geology

Geoheritage and geoeducation

Geoarcheology

Sessions with keynote lecture

African geology & mineral resources in a global world (conveners : J. Gustzmer and Th. De Putter)

Chalk: impacts of geology on engineering (conveners : R. Mortimore and S. Vandycke)

Patterns and mechanisms of past climate change (conveners: M. Melles and D. Verschuren)

Major transitions in Early Life evolution (conveners: F. Westall and E. Javaux)

Terrestrialization and the return to the sea (conveners : A. Houssaye, O. Lambert and V. Fisher)

The Dumont and Vandenbroeck medals will be awarded during the congress.

Important dates

Abstract submission closing: 25 September 2015. To submit an abstract, please use the template available for download from our website, follow the instructions in this file, and select the appropriate session topic.

Abstracts have to be sent to infogbmeeting2016@gmail.com. The congress program is still under construction. Any suggestions about complementary session topics are welcome until the 15th of July.

Information regarding venue, travel, accommodation and program can be accessed online at https://sites.google.com/site/5thgbmeeting/home.

Looking forward to seeing you in Mons!

Organizing Committee

Jean-Marc Baele (UMONS)
Xavier Devleeschouwer (GSB)
Nicolas Dupont (UMONS)
Pascal Goderniaux (UMONS)
Michel Hennebert (UMONS)
Olivier Kaufmann (UMONS)
Sophie Verheyden (RBINS)

Scientific Committee

Philippe Claeys (VUB)
Thierry De Putter (MRAC)
Veerle Cnudde (UGENT)
Jens Gutzmer (HZDR, Germany)
Vincent Hallet (UNAMUR)
Alexandra Houssaye (MNHN, France)
Ben Laenen (VITO)
Thomas Lecocq (ROB)

Nadine Mattielli (ULB)
Martin Melles (U-Köln, Germany)
Rory Mortimore (U-Brighton, Chalk Rock Ltd, UK)
Kris Piessens (GSB)
Rudy Swennen (KUL)
Jacqueline Van Der Auwera (ULG)
Sara Vandycke (UMONS)
Frances Westall (CBM-CNRS, France)